The first 50 panchayats which go cashless will be awarded.

Chandigarh, Dec 13 – The first 50 panchayats which go cashless will be awarded the Digital Payment Award of Honour by NITI Ayog, Government of India. Haryana Development and Panchayats Department would be the Nodal Department of the award scheme for panchayats.
While stating this here today, Finance Minister, Capt. Abhimanyu said that the NITI Ayog has formulated a scheme regarding support to State, District Administration and Panchayats for digital payments. The NITI Ayog would transfer amount up to Rs five lakh per district based on population figures. This amount is to be utilised as seed money to kick-start the activity. The amount can be used by Deputy Commissioners to undertake information, Education and Communication Activities in their districts. The top ten Best Performing Districts of India would be awarded the Digital Payment Champions of India Award by the NITI Ayog.
He said that the State Government is already providing an incentive of Rs five to every citizen opening a digital mode of payment and making one transaction.
All Administrative Secretaries, Heads of Departments, Divisional Commissioners and Deputy Commissioners, and Registrar General, Punjab and Haryana High Court, Chandigarh have been asked to take necessary action in the matter accordingly.