Chandigarh, September 8- Haryana Health Minister Mr Anil Vij said that in view of health of the people, the manufacturing, storage, distribution and sale of gutka, pan masala, flavoured or scented tobacco, kharra and other similar products containing tobacco have been completely banned.

          The Health Minister said that other products containing tobacco which are available in market are also included in it. The Food and Drugs Administration has issued notification in this regard, under which, sale and purchase of tobacco products have been prohibited for one year from September 3,2015 in the interest of public health. He said that it also includes mix of other ingredients such as heavy metals, anti-caking agents except to the extent of specifically permitted as ingredients, silver leaf, binders, flavours, scents, fragrances, prohibited chemicals or any one of these ingredients.

          Mr Anil Vij said that nicotine is found in tobacco and such products.  Nicotine has been added in the list of 19 types of poisons notified under Haryana Poison Possession and Sales Rules, 1966. After addition of nicotine poison in the list, their number has increased to 20. Now those selling Nicotine would have to follow the same rules which were applicable on those indulged in possession and sales of already notified poisons. Nicotine means Nicotine in extracted form; Nicotine in any form as an additive and/or its derivatives.

          Mr. Vij said that Acetic acid, Acetic Anhydride, Sulphuric Acid, Hydrochloric Acid, Phosphoric Acid, Hydrofluoric acid, Perchloric acid, Formic acid, Hydrocyanic acid, Nitric Acid, Oxylic Acid, perchloride of mercury, potassium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide, hydrogen peroxide, Formaldehyde, phenol and sodium hypochlorite were already in the list.

          The Health Minister said that rules have been framed for sale and purchase of above mentioned poisons. This includes supply of these poisons by dealers or businessmen to educational institutes, medical and research institutes, hospitals, recognized medical institutes, industrial units and government departments as per rules.

No. IPRDH/2015

Ruchi/Prem Sagar


Chandigarh, September 8 – Haryana Vidhan Sabha Speaker, Mr. Kanwar Pal Gujjar has nominated Mr. Mool Chand Sharma, MLA to serve as Chairperson of the Committee on Estimates for the remaining period of the year 2015-16.